Meet Our Board

Working alongside our Chief Executive Carl Williams, the LRSSB’s board has been carefully selected to bring a broad range of skills and experience to the organisation. Its non-executive board members are dedicated to the continuous improvement of safety standards as light rail becomes an increasingly important solution to the UK’s urban transport challenges. You can find out more about them below.

Sue Byrne


With nearly 30 years in the logistics industry, where she has held a number of high-profile roles, Sue brings a wealth of experience to her role at the LRSSB.

Mike Mabey

Board Member

A senior manager with 29 years’ experience of customer service and operations within the light rail environment, Mike is currently Head of Operations for Keolis Nottingham.

Mark Davis

Board Member

The General Manager of London Trams, Mark Davis, brings wide-ranging experience to the Light Rail Safety and Standards Board having worked in the sector for the past 14 years.

Colin Kerr

Board Member

A cross-discipline engineer with over 40 years’ experience, Colin Kerr has worked in the light rail sector for nearly two decades and currently leads the Edinburgh Trams safety & projects team.

Clive Pennington

Board Member

The Technical Director for Light Rail at Amey, Clive Pennington is a Chartered Electrical Engineer and has worked in the light rail sector for almost 20 years.

Bob Morris

Board Member

The Chief Operating Officer for Transport for Greater Manchester (TfGM) since 2009, Bob is also an Executive Director of TfGM and responsible for safety and standards, and the delivery of GMCA’s transport policies.

© Copyright LRSSB 2021

Privacy Policy